Wednesday, September 7, 2011

CMA Awards Nominations Released

Final Nominees for the 45th Annual CMA Awards were announced yesterday on ABC’s Good Morning America & at the Ryman in Nashville.
  • Jason Aldean, Brad Paisley, Blake Shelton and Taylor Swift are leading nominations with (5) apiece. (Swift can receive an additional 6th trophy as producer of her album.)
  • The Zac Brown and The Band Perry received (4) nominations. ( Zac Brown could also pick up an additional two trophies for producing the nominated Album and Single of the Year while Kimberly Perry could received (1) additional trophy for Song of the Year that goes to the writer)
  • Kenny Chesney received (3) nominations.
  • Keith Urban, Sara Evans and Thompson Square received (2) nominations
  • Lady Antebellum, Carrie Underwood, Sugarland, Martina McBride, Luke Bryan, Eric Church, Chris Young, Little Big Town, Montgomery Gentry, Steel Magnolia, Brantley Gilbert, Colt Ford and The Civil Wars received (1) nomination.
  • Sugarland will seek their 5th consecutive Vocal Duo CMA having winning it in 2007, 2008, 2009, and 2010.
  • If Carrie Underwood wins the Female Vocalist of the Year trophy this year, it will tie her with Martina McBride (1999, 2002-2004) and Reba McEntire (1984-1987) for most wins in this category which is (4).
  • Blake Shelton received his first Entertainer of the Year nomination.
  • Jason Aldean received first-time nominations in five categories including: Entertainer; Male Vocalist; Album for My Kinda Party, and Single and Musical Event of the Year for "Don't You Wanna Stay" with Kelly Clarkson. Aldean has two prior nominations including the Horizon Award in 2007 and in 2008 when the category changed names to CMA New Artist of the Year.
  • Blake Shelton & Miranda Lambert both received Vocalist nominations again this year.
  • Brad Paisley & Carrie Underwood both received Vocalist nominations.
  • Thompson Square received their first CMA nominations.
  • Brantley Gilbert and Colt Ford, who penned Aldean’s “Dirt Road Anthem,” are nominated for Song of the Year Trophy.
  • Miranda Lambert & Blake Shelton plus Kiefer & Shawna Thompson (Thompson Square) are ‘All in the Family’ as both are husband & wife and nominated.

No comments:

Post a Comment