Friday, March 23, 2012

47th Annual Academy Of Country Music Awards' Guest List Gets Bigger

  • Performers Sara Evans, Carrie Underwood and Keith Urban have been added.
  • Presenters 2 Broke Girls' Beth Behrs and Entertainment Tonight's Nancy O'Dell have also joined the telecast.
  • Lee Brice, Larry Gatlin & The Gatlin Brothers, JT Hodges, Kip Moore, Craig Morgan and Thompson Square will perform at the ACM Experience's Salute To The Military Presented By NRA Country.
  • HLN's Robin Meade will host the free March 31 concert at Las Vegas' Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino, and check presentations will be made to the Folds Of Honor Foundation, Nellis Air Force Base Youth Programs and the Wounded Warrior Project.

Epic concert footage, fan videos and a Scottish Fold (huh?). Those are just some of the highlights in vote campaign videos from New Artist and Entertainer of the Year ACM nominees. Since the polls opened Monday (3/19), New Artist candidates Scotty McCreery and Brantley Gilbert posted campaign videos starring their legions of fans lobbying for votes. Fellow nominee Hunter Hayes dug up an old clip of himself playing with Hank Williams, Jr., who endorses Hayes as the future New Artist winner. Entertainer nominee Jason Aldean delivered a personal message, while Blake Shelton and Brad Paisley videos lean heavily on tour footage. Taylor Swift co-stars with her Scottish Fold cat Meredith in her clip. Click the links for the videos and go to to support your favorites. The New Artist ballot closes Sunday (4/1) at 5pm PT, while the Entertainer ballot will remain open during the April 1 telecast.

Kenny Chesney, Vince Gill and Alan Jackson are among those who scored early ACM Awards this week. Off-camera honors included Chesney's Crystal Milestone award for selling more than 10 million tickets and popularizing country outside the genre. Career Achievement went to Gill for his work over the past year to promote country throughout the entertainment industry, and Jackson is the Jim Reeves International recipient for his contributions to the worldwide acceptance of the genre. Emmylou Harris, Billy Sherrill, Ricky Skaggs and Dwight Yoakam are the Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award recipients for being pioneers of the genre. All honorees will be celebrated during a Sept. 24 event in Nashville. View the full list here.

-- Country Aircheck

No comments:

Post a Comment